Hugo Meyer Cine Lenses

Pre-War Bolex cameras were often equipped with Hugo Meyer lenses, a German manufacturer of photographic lenses founded in the late 1800's. Meyer cine lenses were designed by Dr. Paul Rudolph, who is credited for introducing the first Anastigmatic lens in 1890 -- the Protars -- while under the employment of Carl Zeiss. This was followed in 1897 by the Planars, and in 1902, the Tessar.

Dr. Paul Rudolph
Dr. Paul Rudolph

He left Zeiss and, following World-War I, began employment for the production of lenses with Hugo Meyer & Company of Gorlitz, Germany. In 1918, Dr. Rudolph completed the calculation of the Plasmat f/4, a convertible lens with full color correction.

With the increasing poularity of motion pictures, he directed his attention to the development of a Plasmat lens of high speed, so that Plasmat results could be brought to the screen. In 1924, he introduced the Kino Plasmat f/2 -- and in 1926, finished the calculation of the Kino Plasmat f/1.5, which at the time was the fastest lens made.

Meyer Cine Lenses
Above: Illustration showing a scene photographed from the same location with Hugo Meyer lenses of various focal lengths.

The range of Hugo Meyer cine lenses was expanded to include the Trioplan and Tele Megor series. Listed below are a selection of Meyer lenses that I know to have been produced throughout the 1930s, and which are sometimes found on Bolex cameras manufactured before WWII.

Kino Plasmat 12.5mm f/1.5

Trioplan 25mm f/2.5

Trioplan 36mm f/2.8

Kino-Plasmat 15mm f/1.5

Trioplan 15mm f/2.8 fixed focus lens

Trioplan 15mm f/2.8 with focus mount

Kino-Plasmat 2" f/1.5

Trioplan 2" f/2.8

Trioplan 3" f/2.8

Trioplan 4" f/2.8

Trioplan 3" f/4.5

Trioplan 4" f/4.5

Tele-Megor 3" f/4

Tele-Megor 4" f/4

Tele-Megor 6" f/4

Tele-Megor 7" f/5.5

Tele-Megor 9" f/4